### ATTACHMENT I to the Reg. CE 539/2001: COUNTRIES FOR WHOM A VISA IS NECESSARY

Afghanistan Ghana Russia Algeria Guinea Rwanda

Angola Guinea-Bissau São Tomé and Príncipe

Saudi Arabia Guyana Senegal Haiti Armenia Sierra Leone India Somalia Azerbaijan Indonesia South Africa Bahrein South Sudan Bangladesh Iran **Belarus** Sri Lanka Iraq Belize Ivory Coast/Côte d'Ivoire Sudan Benin Jamaica Suriname Swaziland Bhutan Jordan Burma/Myanmar Kazakhstan Syria Bolivia Kenya **Tajikistan** Thailand Botswana Kuwait Burkina Faso Tanzania Kyrgyzstan Burundi Togo Laos Cambodia Lebanon Tunisia Lesotho Cameroon Turkey

Cape Verde Liberia Turkmenistan

Central African Republic Ukraine Libya Chad Madagascar Uganda China Malawi Uzbekistan Comoros Maldives Vietnam Mali Yemen Congo Cuba Mauritania Zambia Democratic Republic of Mongolia Zimbabwe

Congo Morocco Djibouti Mozambique

Dominican Republic

Ecuador

Nepal

Niger

Niger

Nigeria

NB: The citizens of some countries not present on this list are exempt from the requirement of a visa

Equatorial Guinea

North Korea

Oman

Oman

Pakistan

Papua New Guinea

Only under certain

circumstances. Please,
therefore, also read the
second part of this

Gambia Philippines document.

Georgia Qatar

For an on-line verification: http://vistoperitalia.esteri.it/home.aspx

# ATTACHMENT II to the Reg. CE 539/2001 EXEMPTION FROM THE REQUIREMENT OF A VISA

#### 1. Countries exempt from the requirement of a visa

Albania (exemption only for those with biometric passports)

Andorra

Antigua and Barbuda (the exemption accord will be signed in June 2015)

Argentina

Australia

Bahamas

**Barbados** 

Bosnia-Herzegovina

**Brazil** 

Brunei Darussalam

Canada

Chile

Colombia (the exemption accord will be signed in 2015)

Costa Rica

Dominica (exemption accord was signed on 28 May)

El Salvador

Grenada (exemption accord was signed on 28 May)

Guatemala

Honduras

Israel

Japan

Kiribati (waiting for an exemption accord in 2015, until then a visa is necessary)

Malaysia

Marshall Islands (waiting for an exemption accord in 2015, until then a visa is necessary)

Mauritius (waiting for an exemption accord in 2015, until then a visa is necessary)

Mexico

Micronesia (waiting for an exemption accord in 2015, until then a visa is necessary)

Moldova, Republic of (exemption only for those with biometric passports)

Monaco

Montenegro (exemption only for those with biometric passports)

Nauru (waiting for an exemption accord in 2015, until then a visa is necessary)

New Zealand

Nicaragua

Palau (waiting for an exemption accord in 2015, until then a visa is necessary)

Panama

Paraguay

Peru (waiting for an exemption accord in 2015, until then a visa is necessary)

Saint Lucia (exemption accord was signed on 28 May)

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (exemption accord was signed on 28 May)

Saint Christopher (Saint Kitts) and Nevis (examption accord was signed in June 2015)

Samoa (exemption accord was signed on 28 May, 2015)

San Marino

Serbia [excluding those with a Serbian passport issued by the Serbian Direction of Coordination (in Serbian:

Koordinaciona uprava)] (exemption for a biometric passport)

Seychelles (waiting for an exemption accord in 2015)

Singapore

Solomon Islands (waiting for an exemption accord in 2015)

South Korea

Timor Leste (exemption accord was signed on 26 May, 2015)

Tonga (waiting for an exemption accord in 2015)

Trinidad and Tobago (exemption accord was signed on 28 May)

Tuvalu (waiting for an exemption accord in 2015)

United Arab Emirates (Exemption from 6 May, 2015)

**United States** 

Uruguay

Vatican City State (The Holy See)

Vanuatu (exemption accord was signed on 28 May, 2015)

Venezuela

Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (exemption only for those with biometric passports)

## 2. SPECIAL ADMINISTRATIVE REGIONS (RAS) OF THE PEOPLE'S REPUBLIC OF CHINA

RAS of Hong Kong (The exemption from the visa requirement applies exclusively to those in possession of a passport for the «Hong Kong Special Administrative Region)

RAS di Macao (The exemption from the visa requirement applies exclusively to those in possession of a passport for the «Região Administrativa Especial de Macau».)

#### OTHER EXEMPTIONS FROM A VISA:

**3.** BRITISH CITIZENS WHO DO NOT HAVE THE STATUS OF CITIZEN OF THE UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NOTHERN IRELAND WITHIN THE MEANING OF THE LAW OF THE UNION:

British nationals (Overseas)

British overseas territories citizens (BOTC)

British overseas citizens (BOC)

British protected persons (BPP)

British subjects (BS)

## **4.** ENTITIES AND TERRITORIAL AUTHORITIES NOT RECOGNIZED AS STATES BY AT LEAST ONE MEMBER STATE:

Taiwan (only for those in possession of a passport issued by Taiwanthat includes an identity card number).

For an on-line verification: http://vistoperitalia.esteri.it/home.aspx